Brave

I really dig the song “Brave”by Sara Bareilles. It is not often that a positive, non people bashing, non-sexual, song plays on the airwaves anymore. I also enjoy the video. Bareilles uses a wide variety of people to dance in her video. They dance in public, in rooms, in a mall and they don’t care. They just dance.They are being brave. Dance is being used a physical representation of bravery. Each person has a different back story, just like you and me, and they are stepping out against it by dancing. Through song and dance they are gaining the strength to be brave about their situation.

The same goes for you and me. Throughout our life we will have moments, trials, situations where we are called to be brave.  We have to dance through them, climb that mountain, ride that train or jump over those hurdles. I haven’t been on the earth very long, but I have already had situations where I needed to be brave.

The first I think of is being brave against my eating disorder and exercise addiction. Having to admit that I am powerless, I am insane, I have  a problem (paraphrase of Step 1). Then making a conscious choice to recover and face ALL that comes with recovery. The torment, the relapses, the “I feel good about myself days”, the “I ate french fries and enjoyed it” days, days I want to crawl into the bed and just hide from the world and my self. The never ending battle against myself with help of MY higher power. Recovery is not for the faint of heart. It is for the brave. Bravery to become transparent. Bravery to choose a new way of life. Bravery to face those relapses and dig myself out of them. Bravery to eat more french fries. Bravery to call out to  my support group when I am having “fat days” or when I am tempted to starve.

Another moment of bravery I have been faced with is leaving a negative relationship. Instead of going back and back to the one who obviously doesn’t want to be with me,  I chose to step away and pick up the pieces of my broken self. Being brave to face the world without him and being brave to admit that “he wasn’t the one”, “if he really loved me he wouldn’t force me to for go a career or say demeaning things to me”.  It is not easy leaving a bad relationship, especially when they have you thinking that you are not worthy. Couple that with a mental illness (eating disorder), perfectionism, and you have one hot mess. When I decided to be brave, my friends and family helped me move on from one relationship. After months of prayer, being free and brave, The Lord, brought me who is now my future husband. Isn’t that a great reward for bravery?

These are just two examples in my life where I have had to be brave.

Now, I ask you, when have you had to be brave? Was it your walk with Christ? Was it an addiction? A relationship? Telling someone how you feel? Setting up boundaries? What was the outcome? A sense of pride or a reward? I wanna know. I wanna hear. Who knows, sharing your story might give someone else the courage to be brave.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

