O, listen to the music

Music is such a powerful tool. Isn’t it great when you can’t find the words to express your emotions or situation that you can turn on a song and it resonates with you. Even an instrumental song can have the same affect. The instruments can strike a chord (hah) within your soul and everything becomes at ease. Below are some of my favorite songs that help heal my soul or I put on when I am feeling overwhelmed with  things.  I like to call these recovery songs….but they are so much more than that. Some are also worship songs. Some are anthems. One works for post break up or other parts of life’s ups and downs.

These are just a few of my favorites…What are some of your favorite uplifting/recovery/anthems?

Beautiful Things, Gungor

I first heard this song at one of my dear friends wedding and became obsessed. Such a simple yet powerful song.

Let it all Out, Relient K

And today I will trust you with the confidence
Of a man who’s never known defeat
But tomorrow, upon hearing what I did
I will stare at you in disbelief
Oh, inconsistent me
Crying out for consistency

……

And I’ll let it be known
At times I have shown
Signs of all my weakness
But somewhere in me
There is strength

The Voice Within, Christina Aguilera

When there’s no one else
Look inside yourself
Like your oldest friend
Just trust the voice within
Then you’ll find the strength
That will guide your way
If you will learn to begin
To trust the voice within

Paradise, Coldplay

Brave, Sara Bareillis

I even wrote about this song…click to check it out

https://imageoftheheart.wordpress.com/2013/09/15/brave/

Girl on Fire, Alicia Keys

This song can get any girl pumped up and feeling great about herself…..

I So Hate Consequences, Relient K

When I got tired of running from you
I stopped right there to catch my breath
There your words they caught my ears
You said, “I miss you son. Come home”
And my sins, they watched me leave
And in my heart I so believed
The love you felt for me was more than
The love I’d wished for all this time
And when the doors were closed
I heard no I told so’s
I said the words I knew you knew
Oh God, Oh God I needed you
God all this time I needed you, I needed you

How He Loves, David Crowder

Without a doubt one of my favorite worship songs. I first heard this song at a service at Redeemer church when I first dated my now husband…

How It Feels To Fly Alicia Keys

I am riding high
Don’t wanna come down
Hope my wings don’t fail me now
If I can touch the sky
I risk the fall
Just to know how it feels to fly

In Repair, John Mayer

While I am not a huge John Mayer fan, I appreciate his musicianship and writing. This is my top Mayer song. This song goes with a bunch of different life aspects…

“I think music in itself is healing. It’s an explosive expression of humanity. It’s something we are all touched by. No matter what culture we’re from, everyone loves music.” -Billy Joel

 

Leave a Reply

