Soulprint, Part 2

I have finished the second section of Soulprint by Mark Batterson. Again, it proved itself challenging and uplifting. Sometimes I find myself in such awe of everything, then I get frustrated because the book makes it sound so easy when it isn’t (managing memories, finding and sharing lifesymbols, how to change your future etc). I thought the whole determine what season you are in from the first part was mind blowing, sitting here trying to manage my memories (especially of some very harmful negative past experiences) in order to change my perception…crazy. I needed this challenge. This is a good push to help me in my spiritual journey as well as my recovery. So here are some of my favorite quotes, thoughts, ideas from my readings….

~~~~~~

“I am more than my name, more than my occupation, more than my degrees, more than my dreams, more than my family. I am who I was. It’s my footprints, where I’ve been and what I’ve done, that reveal my soulprint. It’s my unique combination of memories that makes me who I am spiritually, emotionally, relationally, and motivationally. It’s also that unique combination of memories that enables me to worship God in a way that no one else does.”

That above statement is one thing I am trying so hard to learn…..

“We have a tendency to remember what we should forget and forget what we should remember.”

“My life is a story, a story that God is writing through me. It’s His-story.”

“In fact, there are three kinds of memory. Sensory memory is as fleeting as a seven digit phone number. Short-term memory has a little longer shelf life. You can recall what you wore, what you ate, and what you watched yesterday, but those details fad like an old photograph. Finally there is the holy grail of memory. A very small number of experiences make it into long-term memory. But is those memories that shape your soulprint.”

“One demention of stewardship is memory management. Like optimizing the hard drive on your computer, sometimes your memories needs to be degfragmented. Instead of keeping a record of wrongs, for example, certain memories need to be deleted. And you need to create a mental folder where you cut and paste the blessings of God. One way or the other, the process of self-discovery begins with a long look at old files. You have to inventory your past memory.”

That is deep isn’t it? It is hard to let yourself go to those dark memories, because you won’t to forget them and not re-live them. Or you, if you are like me, you re-play bad memories over and over instead of putting them a little folder…So difficult.

“they {difficulties} don’t have to define you if you simply let them refine you. That’s the choice: define or refine. and if you let them refine you, God will actually use those negative experiences to redefine you.”

Sign me up! That sounds amazing doesn’t it? It is like what they say in 12 Steps: Let Go, Let God

“Life is lived forward, but it is relived backward. Part of discovering your soulprint is seeing the purposes of god in your past experiences.”

“The ultimate objective of every circumstance is to cultivate the character of Christ in us.”

“You can’t change the past, but you can learn from it. And that’s how you change the future.”

2 comments

Leave a Reply

