Inside My Actor’s (well Dancer’s) Studio….

What a great idea from the daily prompt. I know I am a few days late from this prompt, but I don’t always have time to blog on those days. Since I am not an actor, I changed it to dancer’s studio. Here are my responses. To whoever reads this, what are your responses? I’d love to know an answer or two from you on these ten questions….Either answer in a comment or click the link below to add yours to the other bloggers who have done this prompt.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/daily-prompt-favorite/

On the interview show Inside the Actors’ Studio, host James Lipton asks each of his guests the same ten questions. What are your responses? 

What is your favorite word?

            This is a hard one. I don’t know if I have a favorite word. I tend to use the word lovely a lot. I like to use lovely because I feel as if great, good, well, just seems overused. Lovely also is a great compliment. I know when I think of lovely I see roses, a bouquet of flowers, Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly….anything full of beauty, grace, richness, class, fun. Who wouldn’t want that? Now I have the song “On How To Be Lovely” from the musical Funny Face playing on the radio station in my head.

What is your least favorite word?

             Hmmm….the first thing that pops in my head is the F word. Or anytime a swear word is used when there is a better word that can be used. I know I have a tendency to say a swear word here and there, definitely not as bad as use to, but there is a quote I always hear in my head anytime I use a swear word. It helps me to think twice on using a swear word. It said something along that lines that swear words cheapen language. Powerful huh?

What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

I LOVE nature. The beauty of God’s wonderland turns me on. Living in the Appalachian mountains really fuels my creative, spiritual, and emotional sides. I walk out my door and see tall mountains, dogwoods, maple trees, beautiful sunrises or sunsets, as well as a myriad of other things depending on the season. In the fall the mountains and trees are all different shades of orange, red and yellow. I love driving on backroads or the Blue Ridge Parkway during this season. In the winter snow covers the tip tops of the mountains, or lays quietly on bushes with icicles hanging off pine trees. In the spring daffodils bloom on the side of the roads and rose bushes start to bud. In the summer azaleas blossom, those gorgeous orange day lilies are everywhere lining every road, the most gorgeous sunsets happen. The season call for dance inspiration, and moves me to thank God for this creation. All of this makes me happy. Just getting out and taking a nice hike just relaxes me and centers me. The spring and summer seasons are more reasons to do yoga outside 😉 .

What turns you off?        

Rudeness. Enough said.

What is your favorite curse word?

As I stated above I am not a big fan of curse words. When I was very angry and going through a rough patch I swore all the time. Then as I started my recovery journey, my swearing has become less and less. If I do swear, which I do I am in no means perfect, I tend to say shit. Shit goes well with other words, and since I from the South it is 3 syllables…SH-III-IT. YouTube Shit Southern Women Say Volume 1 and you will see what I mean.

What sound or noise do you love?

The hard thing about these questions, I usually never have one answer. For this one there is no one answer. I have a variety of sounds that I love such as: heartbeats, Christmas songs, cat purrs, laughter, the door opening and it is my husband coming home, my ringtone when my cell phone gets a call (who wouldn’t want to hear “American Girl”  by Tom Petty go off?)

What sound or noise do you hate?

When brakes on a car needs to be repaired. I am cringing right now thinking about it.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

Right now I do not have a true profession. I haven’t really begun my career yet. What I want to do with my life is become a Counselor and Movement Therapist. I want to work with individuals who have depression, anxiety, eating disorders, and addictions through traditional therapy and also use movement (yoga, Pilates, and dance). Next year I am going to Yoga Teacher Training, and eventually want to get my masters in Counseling or Sport Psychology. When I am established my BIG goal is to have my own studio where I do therapy, teach yoga classes, host 12 Step groups, even work with other therapists/movement therapists to provide a holistic, safe/nurturing, get away for people. A place where they can come for an hour or two and just be kind to themselves.

What profession would you not like to do?

What people on The Deadliest Catch do.

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

Thank you for your good work and faith. The love and care you have shown and bestowed upon others was a reflection of Me (Christ Jesus) in your life.

2 comments

  1. Great answers! I especially like your answer to what turns you on creatively, spiritually, and emotionally. Nature does it for me too.

    I love the name of your blog.

Leave a Reply

