The Skinny on Being the Skinny Bitch

Term of the Day: skinny bitch.

There are not many words or phrases I dislike but this is up there on my list. For more reasons that just because it contains the word bitch. The main reason is that it is a derogatory term aimed to hurt skinny girls. Society and media has depicted the image of all skinny women being desirable and YET they are skinny bitches. Skinny=bitch. Skinny=desirable. Skinny=privilege.  People who aren’t skinny (which I actually don’t care to much for that word either, I prefer slender, or we could get scientific and say ectomorph), are told to hate or “thin shame” their counterparts instead of lifting them up. This same conception and perception also encourages us to believe that because one is slender, then they DO NOT HAVE PROBLEMS WITH THEIR BODY IMAGE. They have it all together.  Slender, thin, ectomorphs, can have body image issues. This is coming from a small person who has an ED, I am also very fit, which leads people to downplay my issues or think that I would never have an ED because I am what society sees as desirable, BUT, yet there are images out there saying I am not desirable because I have no meat, curves, or anything for my husband to hold. I may not keep him warm, but I am a person and take up space so he does have something to hold. ***Now, I know the same falls on the other end of the spectrum, there is fat shaming, and it is horrible. But today I am focusing on the slender side***

I have written about this a few times and through my many years of working in the fitness and wellness field I have seen it all. I have seen “skinny” girls who are very unhealthy and I have seen larger women who are very healthy. At the end of  the day it all comes down to this: God made each and everyone of us. He made some of us petite, short, tall, large, slender, in between, frizzy hair, straight hair, blue eyes, brown eyes, red hair, etc….All we are asked to do is to take care of it/honor it. That means being healthy. Getting your own individualized balance of exercise and healthy eating.

This morning I woke up to the following article from Elephant Journal on my Facebook. I loved it. It is a well written entry from the perspective of the person who people would see as a “skinny bitch”. How it can be very difficult to be seen when you are smaller. How people automatically assume you have an ED or that you are uppity or that you just need to eat a burger. We are each individual and lovely. So for my slender girls, my “skinny bitches”, this is for you. And for those of you who aren’t, still read it….your words can hurt (I have been hurt by people saying backhanded compliments about my size and they don’t know my ED past).

~~~~

This One’s for My Skinny Sisters by Janne Robinso

One comment

  1. Totally agree with you! I used to be quite skinny when I was younger during my full on dancing days, people would “skinny-shame” me. Now that I’ve put on a little bit of weight since then (due to injury), I’m “too fat”. Honestly society is so confused themselves on the body image that we should just be comfortable on our own 🙂

Leave a Reply

